Founded in 1862. Dedicated to the art and science of medicine today.


Archive of Past Presidents

2017-2018 Session

Dr Stuart Holloway

2016-2017 Session

Mr Keith Jones

2015-2016 Session

Dr John Charlton


Until May of this year I was a full time GP partner in Mickleover, joining in 1983, when my late father was also a partner. I have had a number of clinical jobs over the years including Rheumatology, neuro-rehabilitation (folk may remember my letters from King’s Lodge) and then in the last 10 years helping at the Dermatology department. I help out as a tutor at Cardiff University with my dermatology hat on.
Presently I’m what is called a portfolio GP which includes locum GP work and back at the Dermatology department. The last few weeks have included surgeries in Hartington, Mickleover and for the military. I am just back from two weeks GP in Sennelager Barracks, Germany.
I’ve always lived in the practice area, at the moment in Kirk Langley. My main passion (after my family of course!) is two-seater aeroplanes and I even have a small airstrip at the house, amongst the sheep and hens. I can often be found at weekends in the ‘control tower’ at Tatenhill manning the radio.
I’m honoured to be asked to be the president of our society. I have put together a variety of talks from eminent speakers which I hope will be of interest. There will be the usual meal before the meetings, at the Medical School, which I do hope will encourage us to network. E mails have been sent to as many GP practice managers as I can find and I hope you will all encourage as many colleagues to join the society.
This presidency role is very new to me and if there is anything I can do for the society, or anything you feel is amiss,  please let me know.
John Charlton

2014 Mr SY Iftikhar 2013 Dr I Shand 2012 Dr W Scott 2011 Dr D Young 2010 Dr A Cole 2009 Dr JA Millar-Craig 2008 Mr C Chilton 2007 Dr T Fryatt 2006 Mr IV Scott 2005 Dr C Turner 2004 Dr K Dodd 2003 Dr JJ Morrissey 2002 Mr KG Callum 2001 Dr KC Patel 2000 Mr KW Munson 1999 Dr AR Nicholson 1998 Mr AO Cargill 1997 Dr TA Burns 1996 Dr GA Steele 1995 Dr RN Hedley 1994 Mr D Thomas 1993 Dr GG Bentley 1992 Dr GF Cohen 1991 Dr MM Bell 1990 Mr TGG Davies 1989 Dr A Wigley 1988 Mr P Goodall 1987 Dr KC Stuart 1986 Mr WA Anderson 1985 Dr KF Robinson 1984 Mr AF Bushby 1983 Dr WF Paveley 1982 Dr TRL Finnegan 1981 Mr RH Shephard 1980 Dr MH Clark 1979 Dr VM Leveaux 1978 Dr MR Liver 1977 Mr G Harrison 1976 Dr S Dalziel 1975 Dr WH Donald 1974 Dr IAR Mackenzie 1973 Mr FG Hollands 1972 Dr PDC Kinmont 1971 Dr JA Learner 1970 Mr AJ Wilson 1969 Dr HL Joyce 1968 Mr RG Pulvertaft 1967 Mr AGG Melville 1966 Mr JE Coates 1965 Dr I Magee 1964 Dr EJS Woolley 1963 Dr W Milburn 1962 Mr GS Clark-Maxwell 1961 Mr JR Ratcliffe 1960 Mr RL Flett 1959 Dr GWR Thomson 1958 Dr S Revels 1957 Mr CH Bamford 1956 Mr NL Edwards 1955 Dr DV Hubble 1954 Dr EC Dawson 1953 Dr M Elmitt 1952 Dr H Barber 1951 Mr GW Rose 1950 Dr RG Cooke 1949 Dr D MacFarlane 1948 Dr R Latham-Brown 1947 Dr JW Smith 1946 (Oct) Dr E Rudge 1946 (Mar) Dr R Hodson 1945 Dr HA Lavelle 1944 Dr GE Kidman 1943 Dr GF Keatings 1942 Dr FG Lescher 1941 Dr HF Blood 1940 Dr HF Blood 1939 Dr HF Blood 1938 Dr HF Blood 1937 Dr AL Shearwood 1936 Dr AR Laurie 1935 Dr JA Watt 1934 Mr TEA Carr 1933 Dr RC Allen 1932 Dr E Lindsay 1931 Dr JC Grieve 1930 Dr HA Mason 1929 Dr JGB Coleman 1928 Dr SV Hunt 1927 Mr CD Lochrane 1926 Dr AE Brindley 1925 Dr H Barber 1924 Dr CF Druitt 1923 Mr JE Kilvert 1922 Mr CE Potter 1921 Mr FLA Greaves 1920 Mr W St. A St. John 1919 Sir RH Luce 1919 (Jun) Dr GD Moon War years 1914 Dr GD Moon (Mr W St. A St. John, President Elect) 1913 Dr GD Moon 1912 Dr M Parry-Jones 1911 Mr RH Luce 1910 Dr GS Sims 1909 Dr RM Wilson 1908 Mr J Acton Southern 1907 Mr E Collier Green 1906 Dr RW Gentles 1905 Dr S Barwise 1904 Dr FR Cassidi 1903 Dr E Vaudrey 1902 Dr R Legge 1901 Dr T Henderson-Pounds 1900 Dr R Laurie 1899 Mr CH Hough 1898 Dr TL Gentles 1897 Dr W Benthall 1896 Dr W MacPhail 1895 Dr AO Francis 1894 Dr WG Curgenven 1893 Dr CA Greaves 1892 Mr JW Baker 1891 Mr JW Baker 1863/4 Dr W Ogle & Mr JW Baker (Secretary & Treasurer)


Derby Medical Society © 2015 - 2019 | HTML Sitemap | Privacy Policy

Derby Web Design | Business Cloud Services